Logo for Dubaimetroads

Fun Facts about FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023

Fun Facts about FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023

The 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup marked the ninth edition of this quadrennial international women’s football championship held by women’s national teams and organized by FIFA. Hosted jointly by Australia and New Zealand from 20 July-20 August 2023, it marked a first: more than one host nation hosting simultaneously; across multiple confederations; being held both Asian (Australia), Oceanian (New Zealand); as well as being first ever held in Southern Hemisphere – something it still is today despite globalisation!

This tournament marked a first in using an expanded format featuring 32 teams instead of 24; similar to what had been used during men’s World Cup competition from 1998-2022. New Zealand and Norway squared off against one another at Eden Park in Auckland for its inaugural matchup on 20 July 2023.

Australia and New Zealand’s hosting of the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup was widely applauded, becoming its highest attended edition ever held. Some have described it as one of the greatest Women’s World Cup tournaments ever; we present here key facts you should know about its schedule here as well.

FIFA Women’s World schedule 2023

FIFA released their match schedule for 2022-2024 World Cup matches on 1 December 2021; kick-off times were confirmed two days post final draw on 24 October 2022. On 20 July 2023, co-host New Zealand and Norway played in their opening match of the tournament at Eden Park, whilst Australia met Republic of Ireland that same day at Stadium Australia after venue change due to strong ticket demand.

FIFA Women’s World Prize money

Presiding prize money totaled US$10 Million. This tournament boasted an astounding total prize pool of US$110 Million – $80 million more than in any previous tournament! At previous tournaments, FIFA distributed total prize money directly to national associations; for the 2023 Women’s World Cup however, prize payments would also go directly to players as well as associations. Just before tournament start-off however, FIFA president Gianni Infantino announced that player payments would still go through associations, with auditing plans set up so as to make sure money reached its intended players.

FIFA Women’s World Venue 2023

The 2023 Women’s World Cup of Soccer took place across ten host stadiums and nine cities throughout Australia and New Zealand. Starting with Eden Park in Auckland and ending up at Stadium Australia in Sydney for its Championship Final match-up, each country hosted one semi-final game: first at Eden Park in Auckland then one in Sydney respectively.

FIFA Women’s World Winner

After an exciting month-long tournament featuring some of the greatest footballers on Earth, Spain have emerged triumphant as winners in winning their fifth FIFA Women’s World Cup championship.

La Roja were led by Golden Ball winner Bonmati, who notched three goals while providing two assists throughout their campaign. England performed admirably throughout their tournament performance; however, Spain proved too strong a force with their press and ability to move the ball efficiently inside England’s half.

Interesting Facts about Women’s World Cup2023

Some Fun Facts about the FIFA Women’s World Cup are here:

·         Ready for expansion

The first time since 2023 it will be the first time that in 2023, the Women’s World Cup will have 32 teams. This will give countries such as Ireland as well as countries like the Philippines and Zambia to be the first countries to participate in the event. Contrary to that, the initial Women’s World Cup in 1991 was a tournament with only 12 teams and the 2019 edition featured 24 teams.

·         It’s the First-Ever Dual-Host Women’s World Cup

This inaugural Women’s World Cup will mark its inaugural co-hosted edition with Australia and New Zealand playing host nations for teams coming from across the world to participate. Additionally, this marks only senior World Cup tournament that had multiple hosts since Japan/South Korea held 2002 men’s World Cup; although future multi-destination competition will likely include events held simultaneously at three or more destinations (i.e. mens edition will take place simultaneously in US/Canada/Mexico 2026 editions).

New Zealand will host Groups A, C, E and F for New Zealand should it qualify to the group stage. Due to its larger population and more robust football infrastructure, Australia will play host to more knockout matches including third place playoff and the final.

·         World Cup winners are limited to four nations.

Australia and New Zealand are proud to mark an historic moment by co-hosting this edition. China hosted two editions; USA two; Sweden twice; Germany once; Canada twice and France four. Six other nations hosted tournaments over eight editions including Team USA winning half. (Beating Netherlands in 2019 final 2-0 as reigning champs!) Germany also claimed two world cups titles: 2003 and 2007.

  • Top Goal Scoring

It should come as no surprise that the USA leads in terms of goal scoring so far with an astounding total of 138 scored across 8 events to date! They clearly dominate competition at present! Marta Vieira da Silva of Brazil holds the record for scoring goals at World Cups; she scored 17 in 2023 alone! This tournament marks her sixth World Cup tournament participation.

Michelle Akers holds the record for most goals scored at one tournament (ten total), including five goals scored during one match at 1991 Women’s World Cup. Meanwhile, Swiss player Fabienne Humm achieved the fastest hat trick ever scored during 30 year history of Women’s World Cup tournament by scoring three times within five minutes!

·         Who have conceded the most goals?

Nigeria, by far, has conceded the highest number of goals at Women’s World Cup tournaments with 63 total goals conceded during eight previous tournaments combined – this total represents 19 total losses experienced across them all!

Final Words

The 2023 event was the biggest women’s World Cup to date, with 32 teams participating. This was the addition of 8 teams from the previous competition, and allowed eight countries to debut with the tournament, including countries like the Republic of Ireland, Haiti, Panama, Morocco, the Philippines, Portugal, Zambia and Vietnam.